Frank Darabont adapted the screenplays and directed The Green Mile (1999) and The Shawshank Redemption (1994), they were written by Stephen King, as was this movie. He co-wrote A Nightmare on Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors (1987), one of the favorite movies of my youth. He is set to write an adaptation of Ray Bradbury's Fahrenheit 451, a book I just finished reading. I'm really interested in seeing how he does. The movie is filled with a multitude of characters, but only focuses on a few to give us more time to get to know them. Believable and realistic, they react in a manner that you would think people in terror honestly would. Unlike some movies where they will run in and fight off anything attacking them, these characters behave properly. Stay away from things wanting to kill you.
The plot is plausible and the explanation of the events is hinted at just enough to keep it from becoming ridiculous. This movie does steal and adapt from other movies, but I don't see this as a fault, there are no new ideas, only new ways of showing them. It's not The Fog (1980), don't compare it. It's not Aliens (1986), don't expect a constant attack of monsters. It's a psychological drama created by an external threat.
Criticism over this movie seems to be based on the idea people wouldn't really act this way in a situation like this. Religious doctrine wouldn't change everyone's faith in human nature. Seriously? People are like this. They will turn on each other and grasp onto deep seated beliefs and religious hand holds. They will seek answers wherever they can and place blame on whomever they can. Devoutly religious people specifically find fault with this movie because they are unwilling to accept that people like themselves would act this way. What part of our history has made you believe this?
***Spoilers***
Having stated what a well made movie this was, I have to say I hated the ending. Don't get me wrong, it was a great ending, and it needed to end that way, but I still hate it. It was difficult trying to get to sleep after seeing that. It's so infuriating and depressing, shocking and appreciated. I had thought it could end that way, but didn't think Hollywood wouldn't allow it, I'm glad that they did. To those people who didn't like the ending, not every ending is happy.
My only complaint of the movie is that it showed too much. They should have kept the bugs more in the shadows and mist. The CG wasn't the best, and should have been minimized, ala Cloverfield (2008). The more you show of the monsters, the less believable it becomes. If you never saw the clerk get attacked by the tentacle, it would have been better. All you needed to show was his legs getting pulled under the door. The giant monster at the end was handled perfectly.
4 out of 5
www.imdb.com
No comments:
Post a Comment