TV : Survivor - Micronesia

This year's edition of Survivor was very disturbing. It displayed a new viciousness that wasn't there before. Of course there was the back stabbing, the lying and the treachery, but not to the extent this one took it.

It's understood that it's a game, and in the game you will need to outwit, outlast and outplay. People accept that you will lie and deceive and possibly hurt feelings. But this year it seemed to go to a new level. The shear joy competitors took in lying to other people, the ecstasy they experienced in manipulating and stabbing others in the back was revolting. They explain that it's only a game and I'm not really like that in real life. I understand that you will most likely have to lie and back stab to win the game, but to enjoy it so much says more about your character, that's not part of the game, that's who you are.

It made me chuckle and wasn't that surprised to hear that the winner's last name was Shallow. That's funny. You are your name.

Eric was undoubtedly the most abused cast member to be manipulated by the witches coven (I say witches coven because of their cackling and pretending to stir a pot). I doubt he will ever trust a woman again, with good reason. The man hating Natalie took extreme pleasure in ridiculing and insulting the men. Shallow's despicable comments about Eric weren't any better. The pride that she takes in manipulating men is shocking, no excuses, no apologizes, only self-centered joy. Makes you wonder where all of this hatred is coming from. Even Amanda, the one everybody has seemed to have forgiven, made Eric think that she was hurt by him, preying on his innocent nature and fear that he had done that to her. The game's the game, but that's just evil.

Even Cirie, someone that I really liked in the previous Survivor showed her malicious side. And not to only point at the women, James showed he wasn't the honorable person I had thought he was too, his comments about the other people were embarrassing. I had thought Jonny Fairplay was the worst there was, guess I was wrong.

I shouldn't be surprised at what people will do for money. Throw away friendships, take advantage of people's naivety, and take pride in their ability to manipulate people. I can't imagine what these people's lives are going to be like after this, who will trust them? They have seen who these people really are, and if they choose to ignore that, they deserve what they get. Natalie needs to have a good talk with her father, he needs to apologize for whatever he did to make her hate men so.

Also, Survivor is on too often. It's not special anymore. 16th Survivor? It shouldn't be more than once a year.

www.cbs.com

No comments: